我们做什么

由于人口增长、老龄化、生活方式改变,以及新的慢性病及伤害的流行等诸多因素,全球健康状况正在迅速变化。这一现状对高收入和低收入国家本已捉襟见肘的医疗资源提出了前所未有的需求。

我们的工作重点是应对全球健康挑战,尤其是那些生活在资源匮乏地区、受影响最严重的人群,他们最大的损失是缺乏具有创造性和快乐的生活。

我们不会在传统的实验室里使用老鼠和显微镜工作。取而代之的是,我们与社区、诊所和医院的人一起工作,并团结各个利益相关方,包括医师从业人员、提供商、政府和其他从事医疗健康服务的组织。我们进行大型随机试验、流行病学研究、卫生服务评估和创新项目,这些项目都涉及使用数据抓取和决策的新系统。

“我们致力于开展研究,寻找实用的方法以实现更好的治疗、更好的护理和更健康的社会。”

我们的侧重点

我们通过设计、实施和分析大型创新型评估、调查、流行病学、统计分析和健康服务研究,来制定有效的、循证和可负担的解决方案。我们经常用长远发展的眼光看待单一的疾病过程,以此了解人们在整个生命过程和不同医疗体系中的健康需求,以便确定能够广泛实施的以病人为中心的护理方法。

我们的研究项目

乔治全球健康研究院在50多个国家从事科研项目,与国际合作网络中的专家和协调人员形成伙伴关系,并成为多所一流大学的附属机构。在中国,其附属关系在北京大学医学部。

我们的项目研究预防和治疗疾病的最佳方法,改善循证护理的可及性,制定政策,实施和扩大已证实的解决方案,造福于数百万人。

我们的出版物

自成立以来,乔治全球健康研究院已发表8000余篇出版物及其他学术成果,长期提供急需的证据以便有效、可持续地改变世界各地医疗体系。

我们的研究成果定期发表在权威医学期刊上,如《柳叶刀》、《新英格兰医学杂志》和《美国医学会杂志》,对全世界的临床指南和实践具有重要影响。

What we do

The global health landscape is changing rapidly as a consequence of a myriad of factors: population growth, ageing, lifestyle changes and new pandemics of chronic disease and injury. This places unprecedented demands on already overstretched healthcare resources in both high- and low-income.

Our work focuses on global health challenges with the greatest loss of productive and enjoyable life, and particularly in those greatest affected who reside in resource-poor settings.

You don't find us working in conventional laboratories with rats and microscopes, but instead with people in communities, clinics and hospitals, and involving multiple stakeholders covering practitioners, providers, governments and other organisations engaged in delivering healthcare. We conduct large-scale randomised trials, epidemiological studies, health services evaluations, and innovative programs involving novel systems for capturing data and decision-making.

"We are committed to undertaking research and identifying practical approaches towards better treatments, better care and healthier societies."

Our priorities

We develop effective, evidence-based and affordable solutions through the design, conduct and analysis of innovative large evaluations, surveys, epidemiological, statistical analysis and health services research.

We often look beyond a single disease process towards understanding the health needs of people across the life course and within different health systems, in order to identify patient-centred approaches to care that can have wide ranging implementation.

Our research projects

The George Institute engages in projects in more than 50 countries, in partnership with an international network of experts and collaborators, and is affiliated with leading universities. In China, the affiliation is with Peking University Health Science Center 

Our projects examine the best ways to prevent and treat diseases, improve access to evidence-based care, develop policy, and implement and scale up proven solutions for the benefit of millions of people.

Our publications

With over 8,000 publications and other academic outputs since The George Institute for Global Health was established, we continue to build much needed evidence to effectively and sustainably transform healthcare systems across the world.

Our work is regularly published in leading medical journals, such as The Lancet, New England Journal of Medicine and the Journal of the American Medical Association, which has an important influence on clinical guidelines and practice worldwide.